author · Personal · writer

Report Card

report card

This topic is going to be a bit more on the serious side today folks. I wanted to discuss my educational background a little. For those of you who don’t know, I’m dyslexic. Dyslexia is when someone switched letters and numbers, sometimes even words in their head. For years throughout elementary school I struggled to get good grades or to even understand most of the things we were learning. I spent a lot of time after school with teachers and in special classes to help give me more time to understand things. Recently, I was going through my old school papers and found teachers notes about how much I was improving and it made me both really sad and extremely happy. I was sad because it showed me how much I struggled and in school I never really realized I was struggling. Now, looking at these notes makes me happy because I’ve seen how much I’ve accomplished.

I may note have the same techniques as other writers, but I was able to figure out how to write my books without learning it through a school system. I never really learned anything through the school system. I mean, of course I did, but at the same time I didn’t. Most of the things I understand I think I taught myself because it was easier that way. I would get the notes for how to solve a math problem, but the way teachers explained it to me made no sense. So I would sit and study the problem and the answer and teacher myself how I knew I would understand it. Does that make sense?

Anyway, I like teaching myself things. It just seems easier that way. Even with reading. I hated all the books we had to read in school so I never read them. I would read things that interested me at home even if they were stupid trash magazines. Why the hell would I want to read something I didn’t care about? All we did was read a chapter and do an activity about it. The classes basically beat the books into our brains with all the symbolism and themes and blah blah blah. I just wanted to read a book and not have to look for all that extra stuff.

There’s a quote from New Girl where Nick Miller says something like ‘I’m not convinced I know how to read, I’ve just memorized a lot of words’.  I think that pretty much explains my reading mind set most of the time.

Leave a Reply

