Personal · writer

Inspirational quotes

briana

Today I came across a quote that really inspired me. It was posted by Briana Buckmaster and for those of you who aren’t familiar with her, she plays Sheriff Donna on Supernatural. The quote was: ‘If you can’t stop thinking about it, don’t stop working for it.’

I love that I found this quote on her twitter at the right time. For me, there are always highs and lows. Some weeks are better than others when it comes to my writing. One minute I’m so excited I get to write this incredible story while the next I could be heart broken over a poor review. There are days when I begin to plan out my next projects or explore other story lines I want to write, but then I think ‘What’s the point?’. There’s so much I want to write, stories I cannot wait to tell and yet I still feel like I’m only writing for myself. Like the quote says, I can’t stop thinking about these stories. They fill my head and can make me giggle stupidly to myself. When people ask me, “So what are you going to do after this?” It really breaks my heart because this is what I want to do. No matter what I always have ideas running around my brain, and I can’t stop them. I’m constantly coming up with different scenarios for different stories. Before I fall asleep at night I’m thinking of ideas and characters. When I listen to music I’m imagining scenes in my head. When I’m ‘napping’, I’m really just closing my eyes so I can see how a scene is going to play out. I love writing. I love that I’ve had readers smile at me when I asked them if they liked the book. I’m finally, after twenty years, doing something I enjoy. It’s not something I’m planning on stopping anytime soon. So thank you, Briana, I’m forever a Wayward Daughter.

Leave a Reply

