Author Interview

The Lovely Laura Del

A91ARWOj

Today I present to you the lovely Laura Del, who kindly stopped by my blog to answer some questions!

Hey Laura! Why don’t you start by telling me a little bit about yourself.

Well, I’m a twenty-seven year old nerd, who loves old movies, and lives off books and tea. I graduated from Rowan University with a Bachelors’ in Radio, Television and Film, and I use my editing skills to help me with videos for my YouTube channel (shameless plug in three… two… one… here’s the link: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJtlt0JsRewUBlo2gb1Gqbg). In my spare time, I read, write, and read some more. I also happen to be a sufferer of Crohn’s Disease. This disease does not define me, but some days are harder than others. However, even though it’s difficult, I still try to write every day, and I find that it helps keep my mind off the Crohn’s.

I think that’s it… oh, did I mention that I’m a huge fan of British television? I mean, the Doctor (Doctor Who) and Sherlock (Holmes…that is) are my constant companions. But that’s a story for a different time.

See? I told ya I was a nerd.

You have three books out, two of which are a part of the Pat Wyatt series, can you give me a little background about your books.

Sure!

Pat Wyatt finds herself in a little bit of trouble when she meets and marries a stranger. Yeah, I know… weird, right? But that’s the way I wrote it. Patricia Anne Wyatt (Pat) is a strong female character, and Graveyard Shifts as well as Dueling Moons, along with the new one Danville Horror (hopefully, soon to be out), are about her journey through a world that she never dreamed existed. These books show how Pat navigates the life she’s been thrust into and keeps strong throughout the storyline, with a little bit of sarcastic wit for good measure. They have adventure, werewolves, vampires, witches, and a some romance to tie it all up in a nice chaotic bow. There are four in the series.

Ghosts Among Men, on the other hand, is about Samantha Davidson, who is a private investigator. She also happens to talk to the dead. Samantha helps private citizens, along with the Chicago P.D. on more than one occasion, and the novella is filled with dark humor, fun plot twists, and not to mention a ghost or two.

I hope that gives you a general idea of what they’re about. After all, I don’t want to give any spoilers.

 

Now, if you could know any one of your characters in real life, who would it be and why?

Pat Wyatt. I think she would be a great friend and we could talk about writing—because she’s a freelance writer—and reading. We would be more like sisters than anything else, and I always wanted a sister.

Follow up, if you could only spend one day with them, what would you two do?

Easy… go to a bookstore, sit, have some coffee, and buy a ton of books, so she could take them back to her fictional world and read them. We could even form a cross dimension book club!

Do you have any special playlists for your characters?

Not really. It’s just what I feel like listening to at the time. Sometimes it’s one song over and over again, sometimes it’s just Lindsey Sterling, who is an amazing violinist. I also like Adele, Taylor Swift, Fall Out Boy, and on occasion Korn’s “Slept So Long”. I’m weird like that.

What is your process for creating characters? Do you ever base them off people you know?

Sometimes… but usually they come rolling in on a horse, or in most cases, they just start shouting at me to listen. I like to get to know the character’s personality first. Then I work on their features, and finally their quirk, because all the good characters have them. However, when a character wants to be written, there is no stopping them. They will literally buzz in my head until I put something down on paper. It’s a pain, but I gotta love ‘em. Or love to hate them. It all depends on my, and their, mood.

Why were you drawn to writing paranormal books?

Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve always been weird and liked bizarre things. Paranormal, vampires, werewolves… you name it, I’m into it. I love that you can create your own legends for the classic monsters, and I just can’t get enough of the gothic feel you get from the genre. It’s just spookily spectacular.

I also like Sci-Fi.

If you could be any supernatural creature, what would you be?

Good question! I think I would like to be a vampire. I’m not much of a morning person, so that would definitely work for me.

What can readers expect from you coming up?

Danville Horror, of course, which is the third in the Pat Wyatt novels. And hopefully, another adventure from Samantha Davidson. I have a few more things in the works, but they’re not entirely fleshed out yet, so we shall see.

What advice would you give to an aspiring writer?

Write for yourself. Don’t worry about if anyone will like it. As long as you love it, and write your best, others will love it too. They will sense your passion, I grantee it. And don’t worry. I know it’s hard to write now, but you will get there. I promise.

Do you have a favorite line from one of your books?

So many. Do I have to narrow it down? Yeah? Okay… let me think… ah!

“Who’s afraid of the big, bad wolf… Not me, that’s who!” – Pat Wyatt (Graveyard Shifts)

Who is your least favorite character to write for?

I don’t have least favorite characters. I love them all, even the bad ones. Weird, but true.

Do you have any writing quirks?

I handwrite everything first, and then I type it up. Oh, and it has to be in a journal. No loose paper for this gal!

What is the most difficult part about writing?

Endings. Sigh

Do you have a blog readers can follow you on?

Yes! www.thefictionwriters.net

Where can readers find your books?

All three books are on Amazon. Here is the link to my Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Laura-Del/e/B00GR6QGEA/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1452909801&sr=8-1

Barnes and Noble:

Graveyard Shifts: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/graveyard-shifts-laura-del/1115670392?ean=9781480088443

Dueling Moons: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/dueling-moons-laura-del/1120619729?ean=9781500841898

Ghosts Among Men: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/ghosts-among-men-laura-del/1121987934?ean=9781511720564

And you can find all of them on CreateSpace as well.

 

It was a pleasure being here and doing this! And I hope you and your audience have a wonderfully magical day. BYE!

Leave a Reply

