writer

Where have I gone?

I haven’t written a blog post in a while. It’s mostly because the passion that runs through these veins has dried up from a week and a half sickness. The lovely children I babysit are the cutest little nuggets in the world but they are petri dishes of influenza. That, and there hasn’t been much going on in my life that’s driven me to such insanity I would rant about it on here. There are things I would LOVE to share, but I can’t, at least, not yet.

The good news is the wonderful world of the Storm Trilogy has sucked me in for the last few chapters. Battle scenes are being written, blood is being shed, and people are dying. It’s a great old time! Writing the ending is probably my favorite part so far which is odd because that means it’s over. I can’t get over the satisfaction of finally finishing a project. This is the first book (or story) that I’ve ever finished cover to cover without wanting to vomit from it’s awfulness. I’m sure that will change over time. Each draft I go through of editing always ends with me hating the story more and more. It’s not that it’s bad, but when you have to reread it seven to eight times you just want to stab yourself in the eye with a fork.

That does kind of bring me to a good point. Two of the days I was sick, I tried to get myself to work on the book, but just couldn’t. It wasn’t writer block because I knew exactly what scenes had to be done, but for whatever reason I couldn’t do it. I had to read several articles and blog posts other writers had written about worrying so much. Worrying about your work and if it’s good enough or if you can make writing a career and blah blah blah. I may write a whole separate blog post about worrying and how it happens to every one but how it really effects a writers brain. I’m still a firm believer that every writer has crazy in them. Some are just more severe than others. I’ve watch a lot of interview with actors talking about how most of them are very damaged people. I’m pretty sure the same goes for writers and probably any artist out there. Art is a way of expression and making someone feel something. It’s all very interesting.

Well, now that my very boring blog post has been written I shall find coffee! I promise to write either an insightful post next or a story of my past that will probably make you think I’m a lunatic. Until then.

Leave a Reply

