Personal

Living in the present

Being-Present

Today my sister posted some picture on her facebook with a quote about living in the present. Or maybe it wasn’t my sister, who knows, I hate facebook anyway. The point is I’ve been thinking about this for the past few hours and as someone with anxiety over the future it really got me thinking.

This idea of living in the present is one of the reasons I stopped taking so many pictures during events. I used to be the only one with a camera while everyone else just got to do whatever they wanted. Let me give you an example, I went to two Arcade Fire concerts. The first one was fun and all, but I was too busy taking pictures and video to really remember any of it. The second time I went I had no camera and had ten times more fun (granted I was volunteering and we got to do better things).

Now, I know I’m one to talk because I’m always nervous about my future, but I think we tend to forget about our present. 90% of the time my thoughts are running wild about what the fuck I’m gonna do when I’m older. How am I going to make enough money? Where will I live? What job will I have? Who’s paying all these bills?

See. This is where our brains are programmed to go after one simple thought of the future. It’s important to have some idea of your future, but we can’t get hellbent on it. Things are going to change and they will work out, we just need to take things day by day and see where they led us. It could be completely different (in a good way) than what we originally planned. I’m going to try and focus on my present and I hope you do the same, at least, for a little while.

Leave a Reply

