writer

Picking an editor

As upon request, I will take you through my journey on how I found my current editor and explain a little bit about why I chose them. The downfall to self-publishing is that you do everything yourself (which is also the positive). This means during your first experience i.e. your first book, you will make mistakes. Possible more than one like I did. The first person I had to hire to help me make my book magic was an editor that understood how much my work meant to me.  Most writers will agree with this, but your book is your baby. You want people to understand that and help you make it the best it can be.

So, there is a lot of research that needs to be done. Most editing services will offer a free sample before they ask for money, but I caution you!!!!!!!! Be careful to send only a chapter or two to them first.

Out there in the cyber web, are endless resources for you. I know authors who have used way cheaper editors than I have and there is nothing wrong with that. I know authors who have spent way more than I have and there’s nothing wrong with that. To me, the most important thing is you can trust whoever you choose. Not only trust them, but they understand you and are on the same wave length you are. Some people may not agree with that and that’s fine, but this is just me I’m talking about here.

Now, I’ve only tried one other editing company before the people I actually went with and use today. I’m not going to name the company because it’s not that they were bad, but they weren’t for me. Let’s call them Bob (I have nothing against people called Bob). So I stumbled upon their website, probably by googling it or reading about them on another author’s blog, and explained how my work is important to me blah blah blah. Of course they understood and they asked me to send them a sample which I will post below. Here’s the thing, first off, they were a bit pricey for me, especially since it was my first time looking into editors and I really didn’t know how much I should be paying. Bob’s website broke down their pricing in what they called ‘tiers’. I’ve changed the appearance of this, but this was their break down.

finish line

After asking about prices for Tier 2 I estimated I would be paying about $750 (roughly) for a 75,000 word manuscript. I decided to go ahead and send them a sample to edit for me for Tier 2 and of course like most businesses, they ended up doing both Tier 2 and 3 to show me the difference to convince me to go with the more expensive one. Here is what they gave me for Tier 2:

fl t2

This is the Tier 3:

teir 3

Let’s take note of the price here people. The reality is, self-published writers are taking money out of their pockets to pay for this shit and $2,000 is out of the question. However, that was the type of work I was looking for, but on a budget. After seeing these samples from Bob, I got discouraged I wouldn’t be able to afford quality editing. As luck may have it, I was just beginning to get the hand of twitter and some how, some way I came across Warneke Reading. I read through there website and decided I would try them out. This time I decided to ask another author they had edited if they liked working with them. The author was very nice and told me she loved them so I went for it and I’m so glad I did. This was the sample they did for me:

warnekewarneke2.jpg

To me this was a lot more personal. They didn’t try to convince me to change everything around. It was still my voice telling the story. There are parts where Warneke Reading actually brought up historical information in the comments to make sure I knew I was getting my info right. They honestly put in 110%. All for an affordable price that was way cheaper then Bob’s. My 75,000 word manuscript came out to be roughly $400. After the sample, they went further to explain things. They helped make my work the best it could be and that’s exactly what I was looking for. Now again, I will say even $400 dollars may be a lot for a self published writer, but I’m not stupid. I didn’t go to school for this so I know I was going to need some more help with this stuff. Some people pay $80 for editing and I wish I could and so does my wallet.

Leave a Reply

