author · writer

Here’s the thing…

Let me start by apologizing for my absence, I have been running around trying to organize a book festival and it is not easy. As you can see by the picture below, I had to organize over a hundred books into 15 baskets and read each one’s summaries. Literally felt my brain melting yesterday.

photo (20)

But that’s not what this post is about. I’ve mentioned this in a post before, well, it was really a rant, but this is a more calmed version of that same post. Someone close to me made a comment about how I need to get more business, it wasn’t meant to hurt me at all, but it still bugs the holy hell out of me. I’m not going to write out all this shit I did before about that topic, you can go here and reread it if you haven’t.

Like I said, I have been busting my ass about this book festival, so when someone makes a comment like that, it’s very annoying. The whole reason for this book festival is simply because there is literally no author events taking place in my area. There is one big event every other year, but that’s it. Libraries don’t have author panels like they do in South Jersey. Hell, I’m going to Spring Lake tonight for a panel. It’s because of this, that I’m doing my own book festival to get people interested in connecting with authors again. I am making NO money (besides any book I sell during the event) I’ve actually spent money on this event. No authors are paying to be a part of this, they are all voluntarily joining us with the hopes they can meet readers.

My point is, I’m really tired of people assuming I’m not trying hard enough. I have family issues I’m dealing with, personal issues of my own, I work, I write, I organize book festivals. Please keep in mind that just because you don’t see me doing the work doesn’t mean I don’t do it.

Leave a Reply

