author · writer

Fraud or not…?

This is probably the biggest thing you must look out for when you are a self-published author. Many times companies will try to get you to pay for shit you don’t need or just take money from you. Please, please, please before accepting anything, I highly recommend contacting authors or other people that have used the service.

I’ve been approached by ‘publishing companies’ that require you pay a fee ,usually around the $2,000 mark, to be a part of their house. Personally, I don’t think you should pay anything, especially when you’ve already put just as much money into doing everything yourself. BEWARE! I’ve also tried different marketing campaigns that looked promising but were complete bullshit.

The reason I’m writing this is because I got approached by a publishing house to advertise my book for free. I keep reading review for the house and of course there’s a mix of good and bad reviews, but this crap is too good to be true. There is a sparkle of hope fluttering inside me thinking it’s perfect, but I’m going to think on it. It’s too good to be true.

So, self-publishers be cautious of this. Don’t give money where you don’t need to. Do not read websites reviews and rely on them. They put them there on purpose. Seek out people yourself and ask them what they think. I’ll write a more interesting post soon, don’t worry.

One thought on “Fraud or not…?

Leave a Reply

