author · writer

You’re not as bad as you think

Pile-of-papers-resized

You can see me this weekend at the Teen Book Festival at the Morris Plains Barnes and Noble on Saturday June 11 at 4:00 p.m. and at the Springfield Barnes and Noble on Sunday June 12 at 2:00 p.m. 

I’ve written about this numerous times before, but I’m going to do it again! Go ahead, try and stop me!

There’s this stupid minuscule voice in my head that every once in a while tries to convince me that my story is shit and that the third book is nothing but bullshit on bullshit. And certain days, today being on of them, that voice is a little more than minuscule.

So, since my second draft is finally coming to an end, and I have about forty more pages to revise before I rereread it, I decided ‘You know what? Let me just check over the story again.’ The thought process behind this was simple to make sure it wasn’t as boring as my mind kept trying to convince me. Every time I start over to reread, I really am surprised to find that everything’s fine. My characters make sense, my plot points work, and so on. I guess after days of editing and rewriting my brain gets to a point where I need to take a step back.

I’m hoping it’s just me getting really bored of editing because I fucking hate editing my own work. Or editing in general. I always have. Even when peer editing in school, which was bullshit by the way. There was this one time a girl I did not like read my essay and I read hers. Because I’m a nice person and I don’t believe anyone’s work is really bad (I just kind of believe every one likes different things so even if I don’t like it someone else might) the only thing I told her she should do was fix the cites because they weren’t right. She looked at me, glanced down at my paper and looked back at me to say “Yeah, this isn’t good.”

In this situation, I would just like to point out I moved on to college to get straight A’s in my English  course with no help from peer editors…..I’m just saying.

My point is, sometimes when you’re writing or doing anything you overwork yourself. Then you start to beat yourself up until you just want to throw your work out the window completely and give up. If you ever get that feeling.

STOP.

Take a second, maybe two, or a week, whatever I don’t judge, and then go back. If you still feel like your work is shit, that’s when you scrap it. (I mean I would still save it) Try restarting from the beginning. I’ve done it, several times. The most important thing you need to remember is to write what you love.

 

This has been a late night rambling, by yours truly.

…except its not late, it’s only eight and I’ve had too much coffee.

 

 

You can see me this weekend at the Teen Book Festival at the Morris Plains Barnes and Noble on Saturday June 11 at 4:00 p.m. and at the Springfield Barnes and Noble on Sunday June 12 at 2:00 p.m. 

Leave a Reply

