Review

Summer Reading Review

 

The Psychic Circle

Previously, I posted that I would be reviewing indie authors books this summer and my first read is complete! The Psychic Circle: Souls Entwined by D.L. Cocchio

Before I begin, here is the summary of the first book, I’ll have links to check it out below also.

Sixteen-year-old Rachel’s psychic world is shaken when Billy introduces her to telepathy and astral travel, awakening her desire for more spiritual adventure. She can’t get enough. Together with a teenage shaman, a healer, a psychic, and a witch, they form “The Psychic Circle” to secretly explore the paranormal. Romance blossoms between Rachel and Billy as they realize they have a very strong connection. Could Rachel possibly have found her soul mate? But her best friend becomes jealous and causes trouble, using black magic, which could sabotage Rachel’s chance at having the true love she’s been yearning for. Now Rachel must decide if she should fight fire with fire in order to protect and pursue this obvious soul connection. After all, all’s fair in love and war, right?

And yes, because I’m a nerd I did in fact create an aesthetic for the book (I also take no create for any and all photos).

What attracted me to this book was the authors inspiration. D.L. Cocchio drew not only from her own experience and the experience of people around her, but from The CW’s Secret Circle. Since the show was short lived, Cocchio needed an out-lit to fill the void, leading to her own creation. Now this show was very back and forth for me. I loved it at times and hated it, regardless this book appealed to me for it’s psychic side. I have always had a fascination with this stuff and since I know these events were based off of real ones, I had to read it. All the characters are very interesting, bringing their different abilities to their group which I found very clever and refreshing. The reason I enjoyed this book is because of the new information it gave me. It wasn’t the same old typical psychic crap everyone else is writing about. This is real life. It explores and explains the various types of situations and abilities. It showed the good and the bad of dealing with a world that is much more complex than many people realize. I would recommend this to those who are interested in the psychic world, it really give you a good idea of what types of things some of us are capable of.  Am intriguing YA paranormal worth your time! Great characters, interesting plot. Five Stars from me!

 

For more information about the Psychic Circle, check it out here:

Amazon 

D.L. Cocchio

Leave a Reply

