writer

The writing process

tumblr_nssvlpqlTV1tzw8hxo1_500

For every single writer out there, is a different process. There is no one way to create a story and every way is not going to work for everyone.

I hate this misconception people have about the proper writing technique. There isn’t one. I don’t care what university you attended, that’s bullshit. In reality, writing is an art like any other. There will be people who read your work and love it while others don’t understand it one bit. (I have a whole issue with the art industry, maybe one day I’ll blog about it)

When I get asked what my process is, it usually stuns me for a moment. I don’t think I have one, I just kind of do it. You won’t find a board of plot points near my desk, or a thinking board. You will find a collection of notebooks chalk full of ramblings my brains had, maybe an outline or two.

Usually when I’m inspired by something, I let it sit in the back of my brain and let it manifest while I take a few notes down. Over time, once the story develops itself, that’s when I put pen to paper. I don’t like writing a story if I’m not 100% sure where it’s headed.

I’ve been working on a handful of stories, but I know by just thinking about them, they aren’t ready to be written.

As soon as I know the story well enough, I outline my main plot points and scenes I want to see in the book.  That’s where I start. That’s when my brain goes to overdrive and I type it out. Once I get going everything becomes fluid. I can’t explain it, but it’s like my brain just knows whats supposed to happen next even when I don’t.

Sometimes it feels like someone else is putting these ideas into my head because I couldn’t tell you how I managed to put all the pieces together. When I first thought of Tormented Soul, I had a simple idea of a girl and a faerie. Somehow everything just fell into this giant snowball at the bottom of a hill and I was suddenly at the top, starring down at it in awe. I have no clue how it got there or what I did to make it get there.

For the most part, right now, the Storm Trilogy is in finale draft stage, allowing me to move on and write other projects while I wait for edits to come back. At first, I began one of the stories from the back of my mind. I began some research and some plot points, but I just couldn’t bring myself to really start it. I don’t think it’s ready yet. The second I realized I couldn’t write it just yet, I moved on to something else I was holding off on writing. But again, this story moved like fluid and I’ve already written the Prologue and Chapter One.

My goal this year is to try and work on two project at once instead of focusing all my attention on one. I have no clue how this will turn out.  I’m hoping it will be better for my brain, but I have a strong feeling it won’t.

Just keep drinking coffee.

2 thoughts on “The writing process

Leave a Reply

