author

Don’t look at me, I’m naked.

f58cb931ac186a46bd71fdc0f9403fe9

The strangest thing happened to me yesterday and I’m not really sure how I feel about it. There’s this little town not too far from my house, where my dad lives. He spends most of his time there since it’s a cute town along the Hudson and basically knows every bar tender and owner along the strip of restaurants. So when I went there yesterday so he could introduce my sisters and me to these people, every single one of the referred to me as ‘the author’.

Now, I’m not sure any of them actually did read my book (or books) but this is the first time that has ever happened to me and I felt completely naked. The people close to me understand that the book was me bleeding my heart out and now all these people have read it.

It’s a bizarre feeling.

In a way I put a part of my soul into this book and I’ve never really had people I’ve never met before talk to me about it. Even one of the restaurants owners told the girl behind the gelato counter I was an author.

Maybe people don’t realize how open I was being in the first book.

What’s interesting to me is this: Before I officially published my book, I gave copies out to my old elementary school teachers thinking they would love it especially since I always struggled in school. I still, two years later, have never received a single word back from them except for one who I never even had as a teacher. Even the high school I went to could care less about my accomplishment. It’s this really fucked up thing. I was so proud, but no one else batted an eye. Then yesterday I found myself engulfed in this environment where people at least acknowledge the fact I was an author. People I work with don’t even do that. They say ‘she wrote a book’.  Why not say I’m an author? It’s published. I’ve published two books in the span of a year or so.

Besides the fact that this idea blows my mind, I want to get back to feeling naked. I know there are a lot of writers who write very, very close to home. Most of them, or at least I hope, write things that affect their lives or have affected their lives in some way shape or form. I want to hear what you guys write about. What makes you feel naked?

Leave a Reply

