Uncategorized · writer

Starving artist

sickles-events-593

The one thing I love about my child caring job, is that I get the chance to observe people. Of course this sounds completely insane to a normal person, but it’s just so fascinating to me and it allows me to understand different perspectives more. Because I’m so quiet most of the time people won’t even realize I’m in their presences and just spout everything. Now, I’m not a gossip by any means. I don’t ease drop, I don’t go running to tell so and so what someone said about them. I just enjoy listening to other peoples perspective.

Maybe that makes me a creeper.

Oh well.

Before I even say what’s on my mind, I will have you know this is in no way shape or form meant to be offensive. Okay, got that out of the way.

Now, I’m currently very idealistic (and very stubborn). I used to think I was realistic, but somewhere that changed. I started to have my own dreams again and my own goals that seem incredibly impossible to most. All I want is to be financially stable and able to write the crazy stories that run through my mind. That’s literally my goal in life right now. I want to write because it’s my passion. It’s what I love and crave more than anything. This is a very idealistic goal and most people (unless you are idealistic or an artist or something of the sort) think this is very irresponsible.

This is where my child caring job comes to play. The family I work for is incredibly nice and I have no complaints, however, they are all business oriented. Except for one who is four years younger than me and just going to college. This person wants to be in the performing arts and has participated in some events towards his dream. I was actually impressed by it for someone his age, so good job.

The thing is, although this family is being supportive, none of them think it’s a wise choice. It begs the question of ‘what are you going to do when your 26 and have nothing’. And honestly this is a question I ask myself and I’m only 22.

I don’t think there’s a right answer or a wrong one. There are different circumstances.

Writing is my comfort zone, my escape, even if people think I suck at it, that doesn’t change how it makes me feel. I’m guessing the same goes for other artists. I just love thinking about how there’s a difference between artists and non artists. Or maybe it’s just the younger generation vs the older generation. I guess one day I’ll find out.

Leave a Reply

