Personal · Uncategorized

Ernesto

Portrait_of_an_Iguana

As some of you are aware I babysit to make ends meet. Today was one of the good days, where my heart wasn’t sunken into the bottom of my stomach. The most entertaining thing that happened today was this:

In the playroom there is this puppet and in the past I’ve made a voice for this puppet for her younger brother. When I saw it sitting there I decided, what the hell, I’m going to do a goofy voice (it beats playing baby over and over again). For whatever reason she fell in love with this.

When I say she fell in love with it, I mean she ate it up. I ended up creating a whole character out of this puppet.

This was his story: He was a green and blue iguana named Ernesto. He was raised in Florida with his cousin Miguel next to an orange tree field that he loved very much.

Let me tell you something. She told this iguana everything as if he was real. Whenever I spoke with my normal voice she would say ‘No I’m talking to Ernesto’. In some cases she only talked to him as if I weren’t the one making him speak. It was the most precious thing I have ever seen in my entire life. All she wanted to do was play with Ernesto. We even threw him a Birthday party and she ran around looking for toys to get him as a gift.

It’s the little things that give me life.

Leave a Reply

