author · writer

Writing something new

writing1

It can be scary. At the same time it’s also refreshing to be behind something a tad more mature. Don’t get me wrong, I love writing YA and I still plan on writing it, but working on a story that’s paranormal mystery is intriguing. It’s like a complete 180. Not only am I writing as someone in there mid to late twenties, it’s also a male lead too.

As much as I enjoy working on it, there’s still that little voice in the back of my head that fears people won’t like it. Or at least people who enjoyed the Storm Trilogy won’t like it. Like I’ve said in previous posts I’ve been reading Stephen King to find that mature voice and something that leave you wondering. I don’t think I’ve nailed it yet, I’m not even close, but every time I go back and dig deeper it gets better. And this is a warning right now, I am not writing anything as good as King by any means. It’s almost a combo. The simple style of YA and the mystery of adult fiction.

Last weekend was Hallowread and something I tend to notice about other writers (not all of them) is that they use such big language. It’s not a bad thing at all, I mean, hello, being a writer that’s kind of the point, however, that’s not really my style. I’ve always been a fan of simple words and getting to the point. People through around ‘trepidation’ when I’m just like ‘trembling’. I prefer a good story over how many words you know. Again, this is just my opinion.

I honestly don’t know where this post was headed because my head is still hanging in a fog of sickness. Once this passes, I’ll be happy to get back to writing my heart out. Tonight, for any of you in the Morris Plains area (Nj) I will be at author night in Barnes and Noble with a handful of other awesome authors. Next week is the Supernatural con in NJ which I’m so excited about, hopefully I’m not sick by then. So, dear reader, maybe I’ll see you soon!

Leave a Reply

