author

Mary Sue

Image result for mary sue

Recently I was a part of a panel for heroines in Urban Fantasy and one of the questions that kind of stumped most of the authors was a question about Mary Sue’s. For those of you who have never heard this term, here is the official definition:

A Mary Sue is an idealized and seemingly perfect fictional character, a young or low-rank person who saves the day through unrealistic abilities. Often this character is recognized as an author insert or wish-fulfillment.

My disclaimer: These are just my opinions, nothing more. I’m not trying to offend anyone with my comments.

There are two characters I have heard this term for, one is Bella from Twilight and the other is actually from Supernatural which is the character Charlie. I’ve never heard the term used anywhere else so I’m going to focus on these.

Let’s start with Bella. I’ve seen Twilight and I have read it in that order. In the movie I didn’t really mind her character, I was more interested in the story line, however in the book since it’s her perspective I noticed it more. When I say ‘it’ I mean this blandness.
There’s not much connecting the reader to the character. Part of the problem is if Bella wasn’t present you could still have a good story with the other characters in the book. (Does that make sense?) When I read it the curiousness to read came from the vampires and who they were rather than what would happen between Bella and Edward. There just needs to be a good connection between reader + book. Not everyone will agree with me, because I read for plot, not romance.

The only thing that makes Bella a Mary Sue is the lack of emotion she had towards anything else besides Edward. Maybe it’s just me. Besides her love interests she didn’t have much plot else where.

Now, Charlie. The difference between Bella’s Mary Sue and Charlie’s is that Bella lacked emotion/character and Charlie had too much for me. I feel like they made her too perfect for the audience. She had a sad back story, she was quirky, and awkward. It was just over done and shoved into one character. Besides that, I don’t really have much to say about her.

There’s this fine line of too much and not enough in characters and I think that’s what makes a Mary Sue. Some people even say Harry Potter is a Mary Sue which I don’t agree with and I’ve never actually seen anywhere.

But there you go, there’s my opinion on Mary Sue’s. If you want to know more about my opinion and or yell at me about it, leave a comment down below. I’m curious if you agree with what makes a Mary Sue.

 

Also, I just googled Mary Sue character to get an image for my post and Harry Potter was the second thing that popped up, I don’t get it.

 

Leave a Reply

