Rant · writer

The boogeyman

tumblr_mjwcn5x94p1qlve52o1_500

I debated back and forth about addressing this publicly several times.

Should I, shouldn’t I?

Well god dammit I finally made a choice to do it.

I may have stated this in previous posts, I’m not too sure because I lose track of these things. When I first started writing and I mean way back in the beginning when I wanted everyone to be my friend and thought I was soooo much better than I was, I would offer to read peoples work.

This, in my opinion, was a mistake. Personal opinion, obviously it works for other people, but for me, it does not.

There are three problems with reading other peoples work.

Number one: I don’t like telling people what is right and what is wrong. I’m a firm believer in that your work is art and no one can tell you otherwise. Of course you can help someone out and give suggestions, but I usually don’t. Even in high school I hated peer editing.

Number two: As I have stated over and over again I don’t like to read often. I cannot stress enough how much reading is not something I’m fond of which, I know, is weird coming from someone who writes. Reading for me takes a lot more effort than most people and for whatever reason it takes A LOT for a book to keep me interested long enough to continue reading.

Number three: Since I have trouble reading and it takes me longer that means it takes away from my work time. I write, I babysit/nanny, and I am a huge part of my household which leaves me with a weird schedule I have to kind of morph around.

Those are my personal three reasons why I just don’t like to read other peoples work that I know. It leaves me with the stress of telling them about what I think too. The whole process is just a pain and I’m not trying to sound like a bitch. Please, if you ask me to read something and I say no or I brush it off, it’s really nothing personal against you or your writing.

With all that being said, I’m sure you’re wondering why the fuck I would write this random ass post. Recently, I’ve been receiving requests to buy other peoples books which I try to get around to. Writers have to support other writers. Usually, because I don’t read much I try to support them in other ways like twitting about them or facebook sharing shit or even hosting events for them to get exposure or telling them about different sources they could use or my advice for them or any number of things. That’s how I support them.

So please, please, do not tell me about karma and how you supported me by purchasing my first book. Buying a book is not the only form of support and I can tell you from personal experience it isn’t the most helpful unless your selling thousand of copies. The best support is going to and finding events and networking around other writers.

I work hard to help as many writers as possible because I think the art is a hidden treasure that is getting forgotten.  So please don’t give me a sad speech about how to support other authors. I know how to support people and I don’t need you to explain it to me.

 

Leave a Reply

