Emotional Jar

People just don’t get it

This is going to be one of those posts where I say a whole bunch of shit that may or may not make sense to you. But it’s on my mind and when I have something on my mind I have to write about other wise it just sits there endlessly until it haunts me.

There have been a few times in the past where I’ve had to tell people I’m just not in the right frame of mind or I’m just struggling at the moment. There have been two for sure  I can think of right off the top of my head. They’re just moments when either somethings going on with me or in my life and I just need time or space. A lot of it has to do with depression or anxiety or whatever else is happening in my world.

And people just don’t get it.

It bothers me too. I get an email from one person or another to read something or to edit something. I try to be honest, I tell them shit just hit the fan and I need time, but they just don’t give a shit. They don’t take the time to think ‘hey, she’s given me a lot of advice, she’s helped me with x or y, maybe I should give her some time’. But no, sadly, no.

I’ve had people continue to send me work to look over (that I volunteer to do) even after I let them know things are difficult at the moment. And I’ve been on the opposite end as well. I’ve had editors need extra time and I give it to them for as long as I can because I get it.

Recently I read an article about a woman telling her boss she needed a mental health day and he (or she) praised her for speaking up about it. It’s insane how some people understand it while others could give too shits. Do they not have stress? Are they freaks of nature who can function perfectly around the clock? Please, someone explain this phenomenon to me because I sure as hell don’t understand it.

Yes, the reason I’m writing this is because shit has hit the fan once again. A couple of weeks ago I thought about quitting writing for a while until I decided I have to keep doing it because it’s what I love and what I have loved for a very long time even if I didn’t realize it.

The whole thing just blows my mind. I can’t understand people who aren’t sympathetic towards someone. I really can’t.

On a high note, I’ll be writing a post about selling books at events, the pro’s and con’s I’ve experienced so far.

Thanks for listening to my bullshit.

Leave a Reply

